EKOSYNTH

The Ekosynth is a very rare monophonic analog synthesizer built in Italy. Even in the Internet only a few information about the company EKO can be found and a didn't find any about this synthesizer itself. After using the most common search engines, I guess that my pictures could be the only ones in the whole www!

The instrument shown below was built about 1974 (that's what it's owner Dieter Sitzmann told me), but I think it could even be some years later, because of the label "digital system" (see picture on the upper left side). I'm quite shure, that no digital technology is used in this synthesizer, but in 1974 it wasn't usual to promote with the word "digital" - in my opinion ;-)

The instrument is in good condition: only the knob for the cutoff fader has been lost, but the fader can be used anyway - which is done day by day by SIMGO.DE (MINIMUM), a very good musician and friend. Please have a look at his songs where he uses the Ekosynth for most of his solo- and effectsounds!

Here are some demo tracks:

  Demo 1   Demo 2   Demo 3   Demo 4
  Demo 5   Demo 6   Demo 7      

 
     
 
     
 

Technical Data:
   
Voices:
  1
VCO:
  1x (Square, Pulse, Saw) + Glide
VCF:
  1x Lowpass (12dB? 24dB? I don't know - sorry ;-)
VCA:
  1x
LFO:
  1x (Square, Saw, Sine) routed to VCO, VCF, VCA and controlled via the parameters "Vibrato", "Wah Wah" and "Tremolo"
Envelopes
  2x ADSR
Presets:
  Clarinet, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Woodblock, Fuzz Guitar, Spinet, Musical Saw, Violin, Viola, Cello, Growle
Conections:
  Out Hi, Out Low (1/4''), Expression Pedal (MIDI-like socket)
Serial Number:
  #53

 

Zum Anfang

Znarf Electronix 2004

EKOSYNTH


Der Ekosynth ist ein extrem seltener monophoner Analog-Synthesizer aus Italien. Selbst im Internet wird die Firma EKO nur am Rande erwähnt und der Synthesizer selbst überhaupt nicht. In sofern könnten dies die einzigen Bilder im WWW sein - zumindest lassen die spärlichen Funde der gängigen Suchmaschinen darauf schließen!

Das abgebildete Instrument stammt lt. seinem Besitzer Dieter Sitzmann vermutlich aus dem Jahre 1974. Die Aufschrift "Digital System" (siehe Bild links oben) könnte allerdings auch auf ein etwas späteres Herstellungsdatum hinweisen, denn auch wenn mit ziemlicher Sicherheit kein Stück Digitaltechnik verbaut wurde: 1974 war es noch nicht unbedingt üblich, mit dem Merkmal "Digital" zu werben ;-). Das Gerät befindet sich in gutem Zustand: lediglich der Knopf für den Cutoff-Fader fehlt - mit etwas Fingerspitzengefühl lässt er sich aber trotzdem bedienen.

Und das wird es auch! Denn der EKO verstaubt nicht etwa in der Vitrine, sondern wird von dem befreundeten Künstler SIMGO.DE (MINIMUM) gerne und oft eingesetzt. Viele der verwendeten Solo- und Effekt-Sounds stammen aus dem Ekosynth!

Hier einige Klangbeispiele:

  Demo 1   Demo 2   Demo 3   Demo 4
  Demo 5   Demo 6   Demo 7      

 
     
 
     
 

Technische Daten:
   
Stimmenanzahl:
  1
VCO:
  1x (Rechteck, Pulse, Sägezahn) + Portamento
VCF:
  1x Lowpass (Flankensteilheit ist leider nicht bekannt)
VCA:
  1x
LFO:
  1x (Rechteck, Sägezahn, Sinus) auf VCO, VCF, VCA über Parameter "Vibrato", "Wah Wah" und "Tremolo"
Hüllkurven
  2x ADSR
Presets:
  Clarinet, Horn, Trumpet, Trombone, Woodblock, Fuzz Guitar, Spinet, Musical Saw, Violin, Viola, Cello, Growle
Anschlüsse:
  Out Hi, Out Low (jeweils Mono-Klinke), Expression Pedal (5-Pol DIN)
Seriennummer:
  #53

 

Zum Anfang

Znarf Electronix 2004